THE HARDEST THING I’VE EVER GONE THROUGH – BLOGUST DAY 6

Blogust 6

Welcome to day 6 of Blogust 2017!

If you haven’t yet, check out yesterday’s post —-> CLICK HERE!

To catch up on all my past Blogust posts —-> CLICK HERE!

BLOGUST DAY 6 – 2015
BLOGUST DAY 6 – 2016

Today’s post is going to be pretty short because it has been a crazy busy day. I’m writing this from my iPad in bed, so if you’re reading this not long after I post it, there’s probably no Blogust banner at the top, and the links for previous posts are not added in yet. My banner files are on my computer and I can’t add in links from the mobile app. Disregard all that if you see a banner and there are links.

Anyway, today was a day spent with the family and was pretty much go, go, go, from the moment I woke up. I’m not complaining, it’s all good things. I told my grandmother that I would make a pasta salad to bring today and totally forgot about it until I remembered somehow in my sleep. I shot up and the first words out of my mouth this morning were, “oh shit!” So my sister and I ran to the grocery store and picked up the stuff. We made the pasta salad and it all turned out alright. It was just funny because it reminded me of just how horrible my “adulting” skills are. I hate when people use that word but it’s true. I have no real responsibilities other than to myself but when I make a promise to do something I want to see it through. There was plenty of food there and I could have easily just said I forgot, but I don’t want to be that type of person. I hate when people make excuses and it was my own fault that I didn’t write it down. In the end, it was another one of those things that made me feel like I actually accomplished something. Small as it was, and let’s face it, it was just a pasta salad. But the meaning behind it is bigger.

Anyway, now that my riveting story is over, let’s get to the question of the day:

What is the hardest thing you have ever experienced?

I feel like there are a lot of different ways I could go with this. But the biggest thing that I’ve ever dealt with, and still dealing with, was the car accident. To date, it has been the single most impactful thing on my life personally. It effects every part of who I am and what I do on a daily basis. It has completely changed my life. Physically, emotionally, and mentally it has taken so much away from me. I am grateful for all the things I can do, and I try to focus as much as I can on those. But there is still so much that I used to be able to do that I am no longer able. Leaving the house and driving in a car was a struggle before the accident, but after it has become an all-out war with my anxiety. It takes everything I have in me to ride in a car. Some days are easier than others, but on those days where I can’t control it, every car on the road becomes the enemy.

I still deal with pain every day as well. Chronic pain was something I’ve pretty much always had thanks to the OI, but after the accident it is a whole new level, and it is mostly what prevents me from getting on a regular physical therapy regiment. I take Advil on the really bad days but that’s about as strong as I can have. I have a high tolerance to pain medications so the only ones that really work for me are the big names like Oxy and Dilaudid – which in some cases I’ve had to take together. Good stuff, but you don’t exactly want to have to take those on a regular basis. So it’s just me and my trusty Advil, which does actually help take the edge off.

I can’t believe it’s been almost two years since it happened; I’m still waiting for the day when I can look back and not be so bitter about it. I hope that this is all some sort of lesson in the making.

Well that’s all for this one. Thank you so much for reading!

Until next time,
Kirsten 🙂

One thought on “THE HARDEST THING I’VE EVER GONE THROUGH – BLOGUST DAY 6

Leave a Reply

