TRYING TO GET MOTIVATED – BLOGUST DAY 4

Blogust 4

Welcome to day 4 of Blogust 2017!

If you haven’t yet, check out yesterday’s post —-> CLICK HERE!

To catch up on all my past Blogust posts —-> CLICK HERE!

BLOGUST DAY 4 – 2015
BLOGUST DAY 4 – 2016

Today the struggle is real. I have been so tired and unmotivated all week, but today has been worse than all the previous days this week combined. I just want to sleep, but when I try to sleep, I can’t, so it’s just a lose-lose situation. I often wonder what it would be like to not constantly feel tired. Tired seems to be my normal state of being. I have anemia and hypothyroidism, plus depression, so I get the tired thing as a side effect from all sides. Oh, and I take a beta blocker, which has drowsiness as a side effect as well. I probably shouldn’t even be allowed to drive my motorized wheelchair in public spaces.

The only thing I accomplished today was finishing three episodes of The 100. But sometimes that has to be okay I guess.

Today’s question of the day is:

List 10 things you would tell your 16-year-old self, if you could.

I actually wrote a very similar post on this subject last Blogust, funnily enough. I listed ten things I would tell my younger self. All of those from that post still ring true, but I did come up with some more things I would say.

  1. It can always get worse – I think when you’re young, everything is either great or horrible, there is no in between. You’re constantly see-sawing from those two emotions as well. I can remember thinking that so many things were just the end of the world, and they really weren’t. Just stop thinking so much and appreciate the things you have in the moment.
  2. Read, read, read, and then read some more – I was a yuuuuge reader in elementary school, but then in middle and high school, I completely stopped recreational reading. I got so jaded from reading assigned books that I could never find the energy to read on my own. I wish I had read more back then, and I kind of wish that I had read more of the assigned reading as well. I had a habit of reading the first two chapters, the last two chapters, and a few pages in the middle of any assigned book. I always managed to turn it into an essay somehow, but I didn’t gain anything in the long run out of doing it that way.
  3. Write – I stopped writing stories, poems, and songs in high school as well. It seemed to me that it was just stupid child stuff, and there was no way it would help me in the future, so I quit. But I wish I had more journals from that time to look back on. I feel like I used to have so many ideas back then as well that I could have worked on and developed my craft sooner.
  4. Put more effort into school – To add to the long list of things I should have put more effort into, school is also one. I worked moderately hard to get average grades, but if I had put in a bit more effort, then I probably could have gotten a few above average grades. The only person who pays the price for you not doing well in school is you. Not your parents. Not your teachers. You. And unfortunately that effort tends to set up your next step in life, so choose wisely.
  5. Appreciate your mobility – When I was 16, I could do so many things for myself and I never even thought twice about the fact that it could be taken away. Sure injuries happened often, but I always bounced back pretty quickly. Over the last few years that has not been the case.
  6. You don’t have to have it all figured out – There is so much pressure at 16/17 to have your whole life figured out, especially if you’re going to college. But you should really just focus on what makes you happy and what you are interested in right now. You don’t have to do one thing forever. Life changes and the things you want at 16 will not be the things you want at 26.
  7. You don’t know everything, either – from about 16 to 21, I thought I knew everything, and you couldn’t tell me otherwise. Life comes at you fast and you quickly learn that you don’t know anything. Be a lifelong learner and realize that you don’t know it all and your way of thinking isn’t the end all, be all. You need to be open to other points of view and ways of thinking.
  8. You are not missing out – I spent a lot of time wondering why I couldn’t make friends, why boys didn’t like me “like that,” and worrying about what everyone else was doing on Friday and Saturday nights while I stayed home. Basically I just had a really bad case of FOMO (fear of missing out). But in the long run, none of those things really matter. At least they don’t really to me.
  9. Don’t worry, you and Kelsey will be friends someday – When I was 16 and my sister Kelsey, was 11, we did not get along at all. We had absolutely nothing in common. But 10 years later and we are super close. Everyone was right, we did become friends eventually. Haha.
  10. Talk to someone about your anxiety and depression sooner – I waited until I was 24 to go see a professional, but I feel like if I had gone back then it might not have gotten so bad.

That’s all for this one. Thank you so much for reading!

Until next time,
Kirsten 🙂

One thought on “TRYING TO GET MOTIVATED – BLOGUST DAY 4

Leave a Reply

