Changing Roles – Blogust Day 3

Blogust3

Welcome to day 3 of Blogust 2017!

If you haven’t yet, check out yesterday’s post —-> CLICK HERE!

To catch up on all my past Blogust posts —-> CLICK HERE!

BLOGUST DAY 3 – 2015
BLOGUST DAY 3 – 2016

Today’s question of the day is:

Describe your relationship with your parents.

Oh man, this is a loaded question. I feel like the bulk of the answer to this question should probably stay between me, my parents, and a therapist. But the surface answer is: complicated?

I am close with my mother, and have been all my life. She raised my sister and I as a single mother. I have nothing but respect and admiration for her. She worked five days a week, ten hours a day, and managed to get her Masters degree while raising two kids on her own, one of which has special needs. Over the years my relationship with my mother has changed. She’s no longer raising us, and yet for me, I haven’t been able to cut the cord like most other adults. This is because she is still my primary caregiver. Over the last two years, I’ve unfortunately needed her even more thanks to my loss in mobility, and at times it has caused quite the strain.

It’s difficult for me to be 27-years-old and still needing to rely on my mother so much. I’m at a time in my life where I want to be on my own, with my own life and doing whatever I want to be doing. But I can’t and sometimes it feels like I’m a wagon that has to hitch onto her life and be pulled in the complete opposite direction of where I want to go.

I know that for her it’s just as difficult. I know she’d rather be doing her own thing too. But here we are working with the hand we’ve been dealt.

We’ve talked extensively about finding some outside help, but that takes time and money. My situation is atypical all around. It’s a challenge to find someone you trust, and also that you have to train carefully to deal with my brittle bones. Over the last couple of years, my sister has stepped up and has been helping out a lot, but she has her own thing going on as well.

We’re all basically in this weird state of figuring out how to be. All of our roles have changed but we don’t know our lines yet.

That’s all for this one. Thank you so much for reading!

Until next time,
Kirsten 🙂

One thought on “Changing Roles – Blogust Day 3

Leave a Reply

