A Coloring Obsession | Blogust Day 7

Week one of Blogust is coming to a close, and I have been able to post every day so far! It’s not easy that’s for sure. I find that coming up with a topic is the most difficult part, but once I get an idea, everything comes together pretty quickly. Today I had no idea what I wanted to talk about. I thought maybe a stream of consciousness-type post would be cool. But honestly I have a lot going on in my head right now that probably should be sorted out away from the Internet. However, as I was coloring this afternoon to try and get my anxiety under control, it came to me. So today’s post is all about how I use coloring as a form of therapy.

For as long as I can remember I have always loved coloring. It’s one of the many reasons I wanted to become a graphic designer. I used to design coloring pages in Microsoft Paint and print them out to color. Now it’s become this thing that is actually cool. Thanks to this big “adult coloring” trend, there are more options than ever for coloring books. I usually just bought my coloring books in the kid’s aisle; I didn’t care that they were Hello Kitty and Disney. I just loved to color and it helped calm my brain so that I could relax. People seem to love to wait until the world catches up to do the things that interest them for fear of looking uncool. But I say if you love it and it makes you happy, do it. No matter what the world says. Don’t wait until everyone else is doing it.

Anyway, like I was saying, now there are so many more options for coloring books out there. I personally love the more geometric designs. I have found that my favorite books can be found in the Dollar Spot at Target. The designs are awesome and the paper quality is top notch. I like to use Sharpies and Prismacolor markers, and when used on that paper, the colors are so vivid. I have like five or six of those books, and then I also have a Lisa Frank one (can be found exclusively at Dollar General), because I’m a 90s kid who loves stationary. My life was all about my Lisa Frank stationary when I was a kid. 

When I color, my main objective is to not think. I need to quiet my mind to either ease my anxiety or to brainstorm. I come up with my best work when I’m coloring. I’m usually able to outline an idea or come up with blog posts and videos during a coloring session. I always keep a pad of paper nearby for easy access. Depending on what I need from my coloring, sometimes I watch a little Netflix, but most of the time I need it to be quiet so that I can focus. If I’m just coloring for fun then I’ll listen to music or think more about the colors I use, but mostly I just grab whatever color is closest no matter if they all go together in the end.

Here are some of the pages that I have colored over the last few weeks:

That’s all for this one. Thank you so much for reading!

If you want to catch up on all my Blogust posts so far, CLICK HERE.

Until Next Time,

Kirsten 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Coloring Obsession | Blogust Day 7

Leave a Reply

