If I Were a Superhero | Blogust Day 4

I think every kid, at some point, goes through a phase where they get really in to superheroes. But I have this theory that kids who go through a lot of medical issues or have disabilities tend to harbor an even closer bond toward those heroes. For some, like myself, it carries on through adulthood. 

The first superhero I was really drawn to was Superman. As a kid I used to love that show, Lois & Clark, with Dean Cain and Teri Hatcher. Then I moved to Batman, the Michael Keaton version, and then the Tobey Maguire Spider-Man movies. This all led to my ultimate obsession: Marvel superheroes. First it was the X-Men franchise. Then Iron Man arrived, bringing with him the rest of the Avengers characters and their movies: Captain America, Thor, Avengers, etc. The Incredible Hulk movie with Edward Norton, which by the way is better than Eric Bana’s Hulk, The Amazing Spider-Man, the new X-Men franchise, and Deadpool. I feel like I’m missing one… I hate that feeling. 

I don’t discriminate between comic brands either. I love both DC and Marvel comics; both have their strengths. I love that DC is darker and the characters tend to have a little more depth, but they haven’t quiet found a whole lot of success with transferring that to the big screen save for the Christopher Nolan Batman trilogy. Marvel’s movies are incredibly action packed and entertaining but they also tend to feel “Disney-fied,” which is probably why they do so well in theaters; they appeal to a large audience. Where DC has found success with their characters on TV (Arrow, Flash, Supergirl), but floundered on the big screen, Marvel has done the opposite, with shows like Agents of SHIELD and Agent Carter not doing as well. Although Netflix has done really well with Marvel’s Jessica Jones, and Daredevil.

I think you get the idea; I love superheroes. Anyone who has ever felt different, left out, or like they just didn’t fit in anywhere knows the feeling that these characters can bring. I’ve always wanted to be a superhero. It looks like one of the best jobs in the world, but also one that comes with a lot of responsibility and sacrifice. There are some cool female superheroes out there like Black Widow, Jessica Jones, Captain Marvel/Carol Danvers, Rogue, Jean Grey/Phoenix, Mystique, and Peggy Carter even though she isn’t technically a superhero she still kicks major ass. Although we could sure use some more of these characters, and as more than a sidekick or just a pretty face.

So what super-power would I want if I was a superhero?

That’s an easy question to answer. I would want to have the ability to fly. When you’ve been as close to the ground as I have for my entire life, you dream of a new perspective. I love heights. I love the sky.  The idea of flying sounds so freeing to me. Coming in a close second though, is the idea of being virtually indestructible or be able to heal fast, like Captain America or Superman or Wolverine. I am the opposite of indestructible so whenever I would have an injury as a kid, I would always imagine myself being able to heal in seconds. I’ll admit from time to time, I still do.

Well that’s all for this one. What super-power would you want to have?

Thank you so much for reading!

Until Next Time,

Kirsten 🙂

2 thoughts on “If I Were a Superhero | Blogust Day 4

Leave a Reply

