Movie Monday – Insurgent (Blogust Day 10)

Today’s Movie Monday is on the second movie in the Divergent Series, Insurgent. I am a huge fan of this book series by Veronica Roth, although I’ll admit it’s been a very long time since I’ve read the books. There were several times throughout the movie where something would happen and I wouldn’t remember that happening in the books. If you want to check out the Movie Monday on the first movie in the series, Divergent, and get caught up before reading this one, CLICK HERE.
*Since this movie is a new release on DVD/Blu-Ray, I will not include major spoilers*

© 2015 – Lionsgate

About the Movie
Insurgent picks up pretty much where Divergent left off. Tris (Shailene Woodley), Four (Theo James), Peter (Miles Teller) and Caleb (Ansel Elgort), are living with the Amity faction after escaping from Jeanine (Kate Winslet). They try to fit in and keep their heads down, but Jeanine is on a witch-hunt and will stop at nothing until she finds them. During her search, Jeanine, discovers a box that Tris’ parents were hiding, but in order to open it, someone who is divergent (i.e. Tris) must pass through a simulation comprised of challenges from all five factions. Now not only is Jeanine on a hunt for Tris and her crew, but also for all the divergents in the city.
© 2015 – Lionsgate
It doesn’t take long for Jeanine’s henchmen, led by Eric (Jai Courtney) and Max (Mekhi Phifer), to find them hiding out in Amity. They are able to narrowly escape, no thanks to a betrayal by Peter, onto a train heading out of town. While on the train, they run into a group of factionless, and after a heated battle, are informed that they know someone who is looking for them. They take them to their leader, Evelyn (Naomi Watts), who also happens to be Four’s supposedly long-dead mother. She wants to team up and take down Jeanine, but he wants nothing to do with her. Tris doesn’t want a war, so she decides to confront Jeanine herself, since Tris is who she really wants, and sneaks away. Of course, when Four discovers she’s gone, he goes after her and is captured in the process.
© 2015 – Lionsgate
Jeanine sends Tris through the simulation in order to open the box since she knows Tris is the only one capable of completing the whole thing. But the information that she discovers is not what she was anticipating and could change everything about their lives in the city…
My Overall Opinion
I was kind of disappointed with this movie. I loved the first one a lot; I thought it was a great adaptation of the book, and was just really overall well done. This one, I’m not sure why, just wasn’t as good. I can’t put my finger on just one thing, but it felt a little all over the place, like it didn’t flow naturally for some reason. Shailene Woodley did such a great job in the first film, but in this one it felt off. I think I need to watch it again to really decide if I like it or not. My main gauge over whether a film is really good or not, it what I call the Pause Test. This is where I see how many times I have to pause the movie because I’m just not into it and my focus is drifting to something else. I paused this movie two times; one because I realized I was looking at Twitter, and another because I got hungry. This movie was 119 minutes, and usually I can get away without pausing during a movie that is less than two hours. So I guess this movie fails my Pause Test.
Final Thoughts

I’d say if you are a diehard fan of the books and liked the first movie, this one might disappoint you. But, it wasn’t a horrible movie; it just had its moments. Like I mentioned, it’s been a very long time since I’ve read this book, probably three years, and I don’t remember a lot of what happened to say whether it was faithful or not. I am going to go back and watch it again as well to see if this is still how I feel. Since these posts are always based on my first impressions of movies, this is only how I feel right now. 
That’s all for this one. Thank you so much for reading!
Until Next Time,
Kirsten 🙂
*Disclaimer: All photos are from IMDb.
One thought on “Movie Monday – Insurgent (Blogust Day 10)

Leave a Reply

