To the Sky (Blogust Day 6)

I love looking up at the sky. It holds so much mystery and possibility and above all else, beauty. The best thing in the world is a clear night sky, full of stars. I am so fascinated with outer space and the universe. When I look up at the sky I feel like I’m looking out a window and I am somehow connected to something bigger than myself. I always used to say that as long as I could go outside, look up at the sky and take a deep breath, that everything would be okay. Every time I had an injury that left me stuck in bed, I would tell myself that I just had to get to a point where I could go outside and look at the sky. It may sound cheesy, and I have never really said any of this out loud. Well, that’s not entirely true; I used to say it all the time in my old vlogs. I even used to go outside every day and record me taking that moment to look up and be grateful. But those videos were almost three years ago! 

I was reminded of all this the other day, by one of my Facebook memories. The “memory” was from August of last year and it was a collage of pictures I had taken of different skies throughout that summer. Here’s the picture (I also shared it on the blog last year too):
I used to take pictures like this all the time. Not because I thought they would make nice photos, but because I was capturing the beauty, and a moment in time. I actually remember where each one was taken and what I was doing. I believe that things happen for a reason (most of the time), and I think I was meant to come back to this photo. 
It’s been a very long time since I’ve looked up at the sky like this; like really truly stopped, looked up, and felt the gratitude run through me. A lot has happened in life since these were taken, and I guess I’ve forgotten to take those moments to look up and breathe and be grateful.
The last two days have been absolutely gorgeous here in Central Florida. It’s been pretty hot, but the humidity has been pretty uncharacteristically bearable. There hasn’t been any rain and the sky has been a clear bright blue. I was able to get a picture tonight of the setting sun passing behind the one fluffy white cloud in the sky.
Thanks to my mom for capturing this beauty as I drove.
It’s important to stop every now and then and give thanks, no matter what your situation is. Everyone has their own way of doing this. My thing is looking up at the sky. It centers me and forces me to focus on something outside of myself. “Every day may not be good, but there’s something good in every day.” I need to be better at remembering this. 
That’s all for this one. Thank you so much for reading!
Until Next Time,
Kirsten 🙂
One thought on “To the Sky (Blogust Day 6)

Leave a Reply

