Lessons from the Adult-Hood (Blogust Day 5)

I am 25 years old, and inching scarily closer to 26 every day. Seriously those numbers are scary but I try not to think about it too much because age is literally just a number. It doesn’t, and shouldn’t, define you and should never dictate what you do in life. So now that I am 25, I feel like I am definitely qualified to dispense wisdom because I know everything about being an adult. If you didn’t catch that sarcasm, then you need to go to the back of the classroom and stand in the corner. I kid; but for reals, in the grand scheme of things, I know nothing about being an adult considering I have only technically been one for seven years. But today I thought I would share some things that I have learned over the past several years. It will be interesting to read this later and be like, “gurrl, you didn’t know sh!t!”
Being an adult is just basically one big contradiction.
It’s like you’re finally free to do whatever you want, go wherever you want, and be whomever you want to be. Only you can’t because you have to work, or there isn’t enough money, or even enough time. You are constantly pulled between what you want to do and what you have to do.
Being an adult is not what you thought it would be as a kid.
As a kid you think that adults get to stay up late and eat ice cream for dinner and… wait, nope never mind. It is just like you thought it would be as a kid.
Naptime has come full circle.
I love naps now that I’m an adult! I think I take more naps as an adult than I did when I was a kid. I wish I had appreciated them more because now there isn’t a designated time to take one.
You get to make choices for yourself.
The best part of being an adult is that you can make choices about your life and no one can tell you what to do. This is something that I have been doing over the last few years more and more. I made the decision that I’m not really a drinker, and that’s okay. I hate the taste of wine and hard liquor, and it gives me an almost instant headache. So I don’t drink. I’ve also found that I’m not a religious person, I am more spiritual than anything else. This all goes back to my Agree to Disagree post. We all have different opinions on big issues and we all need to accept that not everyone feels the same way.
Your 20s are super emotional.
This was advice that I read in about a dozen different places, and even knowing that, I still wasn’t prepared for how true this is. In your 20s you are so ambitious, and want to do so many things. But you quickly find that either you have no idea which way to go, or that life (money, bills, job, school, etc.) gets in the way of going after what you want. You kind of get stuck like a deer in the headlights, and you have no idea where to go or what to do. I think a big problem is you want to have everything all at once, and you want it now, but when you don’t get it, it’s disappointing.
You are responsible for yourself!
It can be scary having so much responsibility. Not only are you responsible for taking care of yourself in the physical ways like doctor’s appointments, getting to work/school on time, paying bills, etc. But you also are responsible for things like your own happiness and keeping yourself in check. No one’s going to be there to tell you when you’re saying or doing something stupid or irresponsible. They’ll just talk about it behind your back.
Sometimes it can be difficult to be accepted as an adult.
It can also be difficult to accept yourself as an adult. There are times (at least for me) where I don’t feel like an adult and I don’t see myself as an adult, so I feel like others don’t see me that way either. Then there are just people who have known you all your life and find it hard to believe that you’re so old, and they’re so old, and blah blah blah. It can be awkward to find yourself in the adult world, especially within your family. Your family knows you and has been with you for your entire life, and when you’ve always had your places and roles, it sometimes can be an adjustment fitting in with the “grown ups.”
Some people never grow up.
This is both a good thing and a bad thing. There are those awesome adults who have found a balance between having fun and being responsible. They know there is a time and a place for everything. This is what I aspire to be; I want to be able to be carefree and have fun, but also a productive member of society.
Then there are those who are just crazy and are perpetually stuck in a high school-like attitude. Trust me I have met those types of adults – the ones who gossip and complain and drink way too much. Those are the ones you just slowly back away, and stay away, from.
Your awareness grows and ways of thinking changes.
Things aren’t always what they seemed to be when you were growing up. Slowly you start to gain an awareness of everything around you. You’re no longer stuck in the “kiddie bubble,” and you can really see things much more clearly (for the most part). People who you thought were just the greatest, most awesome people, and whom you thought would always be there for you, start to not seem so great. Then there are the people who you maybe never thought to give a second look at or think about, are suddenly the ones who are there for you and turn out to be the best. Things start to not be so black and white, and you begin thinking for yourself (see number 4).
The world is a scary, wonderful place.

Even though most of what you see/read/hear in the news is horrible, this world is also filled with good. I know that there are an unlimited amount of possibilities out there. It’s just a matter of going out there and finding where you belong. 
That’s all for this one. Thank you so much for reading!
Until next time,
Kirsten 🙂
One thought on “Lessons from the Adult-Hood (Blogust Day 5)

Leave a Reply

